Skip to Content
Illinois Board of Higher Education

Officer Infomation & Search

About IBHE > Board Members

Carrie J. Hightman

Lindsay K. H. Anderson (Chair)
c/o McGuireWoods LLP
77 West Wacker Drive
Suite 4100
Chicago, IL 60601-1818

Professional:  Counsel, McGuireWoods LLP
Graduate: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Chicago-Kent College of Law
Home: Chicago
Public member

Jay D. Bergman Jay D. Bergman
108 East Ogden Avenue
Hinsdale, Illinois 60521
(630) 654-2282

Professional: President and CEO, Petco Petroleum Corporation of Hinsdale; Chairman, Board of American Heartland Bank & Trust, Co.
Graduate: Illinois State University
Home: Joliet
Representative of Public Universities
Max Coffey

Max Coffey
739 Glenwood Drive
Charleston, IL 62441
(217) 348-0079

Professional: President & CEO, Kimco USA Inc.
Home: Charleston
Public Member

Miguel del Valle

Miguel del Valle
2218 N. Lamon
Chicago, IL 60639
(773) 637-2819

Professional: Vice Chair for the Illinois Student Assistance Commission
Home: Chicago
Interim Ex Officio Member representing Illinois Student Assistance Commission

Teresa Garate

Teresea Garate
Anixter Center
2001 N. Clybourn Avenue, Suite 300
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 973-7900 x232

Professional: President & CEO, Anixter Center
Graduate: University of Illinois at Chicago and Loyola University of Chicago
Home: Chicago
Ex Officio Member representing the Chair of the Illinois Community College Board

Hays Jane
Jane Hays
The Downey Group
505 Devonshire Drive
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 356-7263

Professional: Managing Director for The Downey Group
Graduate: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and University of Illinois College of Law
Home: Champaign
Public Member
Alice Jacobs

Alice Marie Jacobs
c/o Danville Area Community College
2000 East Main Street
Danville, IL 61832
(217) 443-8848

Professional: President, Danville Area Community College
Graduate: Michigan State University, Western Michigan University, Louisburg College, North Carolina
Home: Danville
Public Member

Allan Karnes

Allan Karnes
187 Bonnie Brae
Carbondale, IL 62901
(618) 453-7966

Professional: Professor-School of Accountancy, KPMG Research Professor in Accountancy and Associate Dean-College of Business at Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Graduate: Ball State University, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Home: Carbondale
Representative of Faculty

Paul Langer
Paul Langer
6506 Tower Circle Drive
Lincolnwood, IL 60712
(312) 715-5121

Professional: Attorney
Graduate: Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Home: Lincolnwood
Public member

Santos Rivera

Santos Rivera
2020 N. California Avenue
STE 7, #190
Chicago, IL  60647 
( 773) 329-0608

Professional: Emeritus Senior Executive, NEIU
Graduate: Aurora College, Northeastern Illinois University, The Union Institute Graduate School
Home: Chicago
Public member

Robert J. Ruiz
Robert J. Ruiz
4832 West 105th Place
Oak Lawn, IL 60453
(708) 499-1610

Graduate: DePaul University College of Law, University of Illinois at Chicago
Home: Oak Lawn
Public member
Christine M. Wiseman

Christine Wiseman
Saint Xavier University
3700 W. 103rd Street
Chicago, IL 60655
(773) 298-3309

Professional: President of Saint Xavier University
Graduate: Marquette University and Marquette University College of Law
Home: Palos Heights
Representative of Private Universities

David Anderson

Sean Anderson
1720 S. Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60616
(312) 905-3563

Student at Roosevelt University
Major: Business Management
Home: Chicago
Student Member

Adrian Miller

Tyler Solorio


Student at DePaul University
Major: Public Policy and Communications
Home: Chicago
Nontraditional Student member

Copyright 2012