Item #IV-5 March 13, 2018

Action

This item recommends the approval of members appointed to the Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois (DFI) Program Board.

That the Illinois Board of Higher Education approve the appointment of DFI Program Board members.

STATE OF ILLINOIS BOARD OF HIGHER EDUCATION

The Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois Program (DFI) provides financial awards and support services to eligible underrepresented students pursing graduate and professional degrees at Illinois public and private institutions of higher education. As a condition of the award, recipients agree to accept a teaching or staff position in an Illinois higher education institution or governing board, or an education-related position in a state agency, equal to the number of years the student was a participant in the program.

The Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois Act (110 ILCS 930) authorizes the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) to appoint a 21-member board to establish policies and procedures, to administer the Program, and to serve two-year appointed terms. Legislation is currently pending in the Illinois General Assembly that will reduce the number of Board members from 21 to 11. The IBHE also provides the DFI program leadership and administrative program support.

The four existing members of the DFI board include:

- Dr. Ricardo Cruz, Professor of English at Illinois State University;
- Dr. Mona Davenport, Director of Minority Affairs at Eastern Illinois University;
- Dr. Troy Harden, Director, MSW Program and Associate Professor at Northeastern Illinois University; and
- Mr. Giraldo Rosales, Office of Diversity, Equity and Access at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The seven newly recommended DFI Board members are:

- Dr. Venessa Brown, Professor and Associate Chancellor for Institutional Diversity and Inclusion at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville;
- Dr. C. Myra Gaytan-Morales, Assistant Dean for Academic Services and Programs at the University Center of Lake County;
- Dr. Daniel Lopez, Illinois Latino Council on Higher Education (ILACHE) Board President;
- Dr. Celina Chatman-Nelson, Director, Grad Development and Diversity at the University of Chicago;
- Dr. Eva Serrano, Assistant Professor of Foreign Languages and Director, Latino Initiative at Aurora University;
- Dr. Vernese Edghill-Walden, Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Diversity and Chief Diversity Officer at Northern Illinois University; and
- Dr. Ron Williams, Vice President for Student Services at Western Illinois University.

The following individual is recommended as an alternate DFI Board:

• Dr. Amalia Pallares, Associate Chancellor and Vice Provost for Diversity at the University of Illinois at Chicago

The staff recommends the adoption of the following resolutions:

The Illinois Board of Higher Education hereby approves the appointment of the following individuals to serve as members on the Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois Program Board:

- Dr. Venessa Brown, Professor and Associate Chancellor for Institutional Diversity and Inclusion at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville;
- Dr. C. Myra Gaytan-Morales, Assistant Dean for Academic Services and Programs at the University Center of Lake County;
- Dr. Daniel Lopez, Illinois Latino Council on Higher Education (ILACHE) Board President;
- Dr. Celina Chatman-Nelson, Director, Grad Development and Diversity at the University of Chicago;
- Dr. Eva Serrano, Assistant Professor of Foreign Languages and Director, Latino Initiative at Aurora University;
- Dr. Vernese Edghill-Walden, Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Diversity and Chief Diversity Officer at Northern Illinois University; and
- Dr. Ron Williams, Vice President for Student Services at Western Illinois University.

The Illinois Board of Higher Education hereby approves the appointment of the following individual to serve as an alternate member on the Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois Program Board:

• Dr. Amalia Pallares, Associate Chancellor and Vice Provost for Diversity at the University of Illinois at Chicago