

Item #G-5 September 10, 2019

## APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENT OF BOARD MEMBERS TO THE DIVERSIFYING HIGHER EDUCATION FACULTY IN ILLINOIS PROGRAM

Submitted for:	Action
Summary:	This item recommends the approval of members appointed to the Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois (DFI) Program Board.
Action Required:	That the Illinois Board of Higher Education approve the appointment of DFI Program Board members.

## STATE OF ILLINOIS BOARD OF HIGHER EDUCATION

## APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENT OF BOARD MEMBERS TO THE DIVERSIFYING HIGHER EDUCATION FACULTY IN ILLINOIS PROGRAM

The Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois Program (DFI) provides financial awards and support services to eligible underrepresented students pursing graduate and professional degrees at Illinois public and private institutions of higher education. As a condition of the award, recipients agree to accept a teaching or staff position in an Illinois higher education institution or governing board, or an education-related position in a state agency, equal to the number of years the student was a participant in the program.

The Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois Act (110 ILCS 930) authorizes the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) to appoint an 11-member board to establish policies and procedures, to administer the Program, and to serve two-year appointed terms. The IBHE also provides the DFI program leadership and administrative program support. The seven existing members of the DFI board include:

- Mr. Giraldo Rosales, DFI Chair;
- Dr. Mona Davenport, Illinois Committee on Black Concerns in Higher Education
- Dr. Daniel Lopez, Illinois Latino Council on Higher Education
- Dr. Venessa Brown, Professor and Associate Chancellor for Institutional Diversity and Inclusion at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville;
- Dr. C. Myra Gaytan-Morales, Assistant Dean for Academic Services and Programs at the University Center of Lake County;
- Dr. Eva Serrano, Assistant Professor of Foreign Languages and Director, Latino Initiative at Aurora University; and
- Dr. Vernese Edghill-Walden, Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Diversity and Chief Diversity Officer at Northern Illinois University.

The four newly recommended DFI Board members are:

- Dr. Rocio Rivadenyra, Director of the Honors Program and Associate Professor, Psychology at Illinois State University;
- Dr. Lorette Oden, Professor and Chair of the College of Education and Human Services at Western Illinois University;
- Dr. Mia Hardy, Associate Dean of Communications and Behavioral Sciences at Elgin Community College; and
- Mr. Corey Williams, Associate Vice President and Dean for Student Affairs at Governors State University.

## Recommendation

The staff recommends the adoption of the following resolution:

The Illinois Board of Higher Education hereby approves the appointment of the following individuals to serve as members on the Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois Program Board:

- Dr. Rocio Rivadenyra, Director of the Honors Program and Associate Professor, Psychology at Illinois State University;
- Dr. Lorette Oden, Professor and Chair of the College of Education and Human Services at Western Illinois University;
- Dr. Mia Hardy, Associate Dean of Communications and Behavioral Sciences at Elgin Community College; and
- Mr. Corey Williams, Associate Vice President and Dean for Student Affairs at Governors State University.