Skip to Content

The Nursing School Grant Program

Student Nurse
Large bandage cross

The purpose of the Nursing School Grant Program is to increase the number of registered nurses in Illinois. Nursing programs that are eligible include existing Associate Degrees in Nursing (ADN), Registered Nursing to Baccalaureate Degree Completion Programs (RN-BSN), Baccalaureate Degrees in Nursing (BSN), and Masters in Science (MSN) Entry Level offered by Illinois institutions of higher education. Programs must be accredited by ACEN or CCNE. Funds may be used to hire faculty and staff, develop or expand instructional programs and academic support services, secure clinical sites, improve or increase space for classrooms and laboratories, and purchase equipment and instructional materials. Grant awards are determined on a competitive basis.

Please note that only nursing schools are eligible for this grant. For information about financial aid for students interested in nursing, go to Illinois Student Assistance Commission and Illinois Nursing Workforce Center.

Rules and Statutes

  • Statutes
    (110 ILCS 205/9.31) Sec. 9.31. Competitive grants to nursing schools. In order to increase the number of nurses graduating from Illinois institutions of higher learning, the Board shall establish and administer a competitive grant program for institutions of higher learning that award degrees in nursing. The grants may be awarded on the basis of performance criteria that shall include, but not be limited to, degree production, student retention, and passage rates on professional licensure examinations. The Board shall adopt those rules that are necessary for the implementation and administration of the grants established under this Section.

Award Announcements

Fiscal Year 2018 (pdf) Approved the allocation of $373,900 in awards.
Additional Fiscal Year 2018 Award (pdf)
Fiscal Year 2014 (pdf) Approved the allocation of $375,848 in awards.
Fiscal Year 2013 (pdf) Approved the allocation of $425,000 in awards.
Fiscal Year 2012 (pdf) Approved the allocation of $880,000 in awards.