Skip to Content
Illinois Board of Higher Education

Officer Infomation & Search

About IBHE > Calendars & Agendas

April 1, 2008
9:00 a.m.

Illinois State University
Bone Student Center
Old Main Room, First Floor
Normal, Illinois

  Get Acrobat Reader The following documents are in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF). Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view the documents and it is available as a free download from Adobe web site .

I. Call Meeting to Order,
II. Welcome, Illinois State University President Al Bowman
III. Remarks, Northern Illinois University President John Peters
IV. Introduction of Campus Security Task Force Panel, Chairwoman Hightman

Campus Security Task Force Panel Presentation:


Other Board Agenda Items (see below)


Board Agenda Items

Board Agenda Remarks and Announcements, Carrie J. Hightman


Remarks by Judy Erwin, Executive Director


Presentation by Dennis Jones: A Public Agenda for College and Career Success

4. Board Meeting Minutes – February 5, 2008
(Action-no presentation)

This item recommends approval of the minutes of the February 5, 2008, meeting of the Illinois Board of Higher Education. (Linda Oseland)

Financial Report
(Action-no presentation)
This item provides an update on expenditures and obligations from the fiscal year 2008 appropriations to the Illinois Board of Higher Education as of February 29,2008. (Peggy Podlasek)


Advisory Committee Reports
(Information-various presenters)
Committees that advise the Illinois Board of Higher Education will comment on their respective committee’s perspectives and observations concerning items on the meeting agenda:

  • Jason Wallace, Student Advisory Committee;
  • Jerry Dill, Proprietary Advisory Committee;
  • Terry Bruce, Council of Community College Presidents; and
  • Dave Tretter, Private College and University Advisory Committee.

Presentation by Curtis White, Faculty Advisory Council: The High Cost of Efficiency: Appropriate Investment in Illinois’ Intellectual Infrastructure


New Units of Instruction at Public Community Colleges
(Action-Presentation by Rick Pearce)
This item recommends approval of new associate degree programs to be offered at the following community colleges: College of DuPage, College of Lake County, Highland Community College, John A. Logan College, Kankakee Community College, McHenry County College, Moraine Valley Community College, Morton College, Northern Illinois Online Initiative for Nursing (Highland Community College, Kishwaukee College, Rock Valley College, Sauk Valley Community College), Prairie State College, Richland Community College, Spoon River Community College, and Triton Community College.


New Operating and/or Degree-Granting Authority for Independent Institutions
(Action-Presentation by Rick Pearce)
This item recommends approval of operating and/or degree-granting authority to the following institutions: Benedictine University, Columbia College of Columbia, Missouri, Ellis University, Illinois Institute of Art-Schaumburg, Kendall College, Northwestern Business College, Quincy University, and Roosevelt University.


New Units of Instruction, Public Service, and Research at Public Universities
(Action-Presentation by Rick Pearce)
This item recommends approval of seven degree programs and one center at the following public universities: Governors State University, Northern Illinois University, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Public University Noninstructional Capital Project Approval
(Action-Presentation by Mike Baumgartner)

This item recommends approval of noninstructional capital improvement projects at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Illinois Cooperative Work Study Program Fiscal Year 2008 Grant Allocation
(Action-Presentation by Mike Baumgartner)
This item recommends approval of the allocation of $ $2,058,000 for fiscal year 2008 Illinois Cooperative Work Study Grants detailed in this item.


Diversifying Higher Education Faculty In Illinois Program Board Appointment
(Action-Presentation by Carrie Hightman)
This item recommends approval of the appointment of Ms. Leticia Peralta Davis and Dr. Mrinalini (Meena) C. Rao, and reappoints Dr. Elizabeth Ortiz and Dr. Michael Toney to the DFI Program Board.


Appropriation Transfers for Fiscal Year 2008
(Action – no presentation)
This item recommends approval of appropriation transfers listed in this item


Legislative Update
(Information – Presentation by Don Sevener)
This oral report will provide an update on the spring 2008 legislative session.

16. Other Matters/Public Comment Period
Copyright 2012